Thursday, August 25, 2011

The Libertines US (Voices From The Past Single)

If I had to guess without looking at the record sleeve, where these guys were from; my first guess would definitely be Australia. But The Libertines were actually from Cincinnati Oh. The band originally formed as a three piece in 1983. Only the band members first names, are listed on the back of the sleeve. Members were: Walt, (Guitar, and Vocals) Randy, (Bass) and Joe (Drums). I think this was the bands second single, and it appears to have been self released. If you would like to find out more about The Libertines; I found This Myspace. They also released a best of disc in 2007 titled Greatest Hits, The Libertines US; that you can pick up for $10.00 HERE.

Self Released 1986

1. Voices From The Past

2. Something In The Water

Sunday, August 14, 2011

The Beatles Costello (Washing The Defectives E.P.)

I'm guessing this record wasn't meant, to be taken very seriously. (But, at least for me anyway); the cover of Arthur Alexander's "Soldier Of Love" makes this worth owning. You get three other instrumental covers as well. Eric Rosenfeld, (Guitar) and Andy Paley, (Guitar, and background Vocals) were previously in the Boston outfit, The Sidewinders(a band that also included Billy Squire). Other band members were: Jim Freeman, (Drums) Chuck Chaplin, (Piano) and Jim Skinner, (Vocals). I couldn't find anything else on these guys; this might be their only release. If you read the back of the sleeve; there's a pretty funny story on the bands origins.

Pious Records 1978

1. Soldier Of Love
2. I Feel Fine
3. Theme From A Summer Place
4. Outer Limits


Saturday, August 13, 2011

The Name (Forget Art Let's Dance Single + Bonus)

The Name were a Peterborough area outfit that formed from the ashes of The Gobblinz , And The Now sometime around late 1978, early 79. I'm pretty sure this was their only single. After a number of line-up changes; they called it a day in 1981. If you'd like to read more on them; check out THIS SITE. I included the naughtier version of F Art for your listening pleasure. Detour Records, released a retrospective on The Name, you can find HERE.

Dindisc Records 1980

1. Forget Art Let's Dance
2. Misfits


Sunday, August 7, 2011

File 13 (Hot On The Beach Single)

File 13 were a Jersey Shore area Powerpop three piece that were around from the mid Eighties through the early Nineties. I couldn't find allot of info on these guys. Jim Baeszler, (Guitars, and Vocals) and Joe Rubin, (Drums) now reside in a three piece Pop/Rock outfit called Glen Close; and Jim Shaw, (Bass, and Vocals) is a solo artist.

Black Cat Records 1986

1. Hot On The Beach
2. Laura


Friday, August 5, 2011

Paradox (Be Impressive Single)

Paradox were from Alkmaar, Holland; which I've read, is known for their Cheese, (sounds like my kind of place). The band was around from 1979 to 1982; and I believe this was their only release, which is a shame because I like their sound. I know the cover looks a little scary; but don't let it fool you, this is a slick record. I couldn't find much in the way of info; but I did find THIS SITE.

Band Members Were:

John Admiraal - (Drums)
Rob De Jonge - (Bass)
Jurriaan Leyen - (Keys)
Walter Van Reisen -(Guitar)
Arnold Schellens - (Vocals)

Pink Point Music 1980

1. Be Impressive
2. Don't Worry


Monday, August 1, 2011

Mark Lane (Need Me Tonight Single)

I couldn't find anything on these guys. It looks like this was self released; and they were probably from Massachusetts. Band members were: Will Harrigan, (Bass, Synth, Sax, and Vocals) Matthew Conway, (Drums, Vocals) Robert Wood, (Guitars, Vocals) and John Todd (Piano).

Harrigan & Todd Productions 1980

1. Need Me Tonight
2. Dues And Don'ts